Massage Today
Massage Today dotted line
dotted line

dotted line

Industry News for American Massage Therapy Association

500 Davis St Suite 900
Evanston, Illinois 60201-4695

American Massage Therapy Association Elects National Board

The American Massage Therapy AssociationÒ (AMTAÒ) announces the results of its 2013 national election, conducted electronically among its Professional members.  Jeff W. Smoot of Oklahoma was voted President-Elect. He will serve in that position from March 1, 2014 through February 28, 2015 when he will assume the position of President.  On March 1, 2014 current President-Elect, Nancy Porambo of Pennsylvania, will become AMTA President.

Kathie Lea (LA) and Dolly Wallace (MI) were elected Vice Presidents and will serve two-year terms beginning March 1, 2014.

Three Members-at-Large of the Board of Directors also were elected:

John Lauren Combe (OR), Glyn Desmond (WA) and Joan Nichols (GA)

Suzie Lindberg (ID) Trisha M. Pennell (ID) and Becky Schwoebel (IL) were elected to the Commission on Candidacy and will coordinate the candidate search for the 2014 national AMTA election. 


A report on election results is available for AMTA members. (Members must login to view the report)  Photos of those elected to the Board of Directors also soon will be available on the AMTA website at


The American Massage Therapy Association is the largest non-profit, professional association for massage therapists, massage students and massage schools.  The association is directed by volunteer leadership elected by the membership and fosters ongoing, member involvement through its 51 chapters.  AMTA works to advance the profession through ethics and standards, the promotion of fair and consistent licensing of massage therapists in all states, and public education on the benefits of massage.  The association actively promotes its members to the public and potential employers. 

dotted line