Massage Today
Massage Today dotted line
dotted line

dotted line

Industry News for American Massage Therapy Association

500 Davis St Suite 900
Evanston, Illinois 60201-4695

Nominations Open September 1 for AMTA’s Dianne Polseno Lifetime Achievement Award


Beginning September 1, the American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) will accept nominations for its Dianne Polseno Lifetime Achievement Award.  This award, instituted in 2012, honors the memory of Dianne Polseno, an industry leader who left behind a legacy of integrity, professionalism, volunteer service, massage research and an unquestionable commitment to the advancement of the massage education profession.


With this award, AMTA seeks to honor someone in massage therapy education who also manifests these qualities.  The association invites nominations for those whose lifetime achievements should be recognized. The Lifetime Achievement nominee should have manifested a history of unquestionable leadership, volunteer service, professionalism, integrity and a commitment to research that advances the massage education profession. The nominee must have a minimum of 15 years of service to massage education.  Nominations will be accepted from September 1, 2013 through January 30, 2014.  Anyone can nominate a potential recipient.


The American Massage Therapy Association is the largest non-profit, professional association serving massage therapists, massage students and massage schools.  The association is directed by volunteer leadership and fosters ongoing, direct member-involvement through its 51 chapters.  AMTA works to advance the profession through ethics and standards, the promotion of fair and consistent licensing of massage therapists in all states, and public education on the benefits of massage. 



dotted line