Massage Today
Massage Today dotted line
dotted line

dotted line
Share |
  Forward PDF Version  
Massage Today
March, 2008, Vol. 08, Issue 03

COMTA and Biotone Announce 2008 Edu-Scholarship Recipients

By Editorial Staff

The Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation (COMTA) and Biotone recently announced the recipients of the 2008 Edu-Scholarship Fund. Six COMTA accredited schools from the U.S. and Canada will receive $500 scholarships they can award to promising students.

The six schools receiving the awards include the Institute for Therapeutic Massage (Pomptom Lakes, Red Bank, Newark, Morristown and Toms River, N.J.); Kishwaukee College Massage Certification Program (Malta, Ill.); Lakeside School of Massage Therapy (Milwaukee and Madison, Wis.); Massage Therapy College of Manitoba (Winnipeg, Manitoba); Massage Therapy Institute of Colorado (Denver); and Northwestern Health Sciences University School of Massage Therapy (Bloomington, Minn.).

The announcement was made at the COMTA reception held in conjunction with the American Massage Therapy Association Council of Schools 2008 Leadership Conference and Annual Meeting in Savannah, Ga., from Jan. 24-26. The awards program was launched in 2007, and six schools are awarded $500 to give to a deserving student who has achieved educational excellence at the mid-point of their training program.

"The massage therapy profession has enormous growth potential, particularly as CAM therapies continue to gain inroads into mainstream healthcare and the public increasingly turns to massage for relaxation and relief," said Jean Shea, Biotone founder and CEO. "However, with this opportunity come new demands on the proficiency of massage therapists, so that the emphasis on training has never been greater. We therefore are very proud to support the future generations of massage therapists through this education scholarship program."

Criteria for scholarship selection include a school's standing. The recipient schools and programs each had annual and financial reports accepted without condition. In turn, students applying for the scholarships currently must be enrolled in a school's massage therapy program and have achieved the midway point in their curriculum. Awards are based on a student's academic performance, future massage therapist potential and leadership in community activities. Special circumstances also are considered. All funds must be used for tuition and other school and education - related expenses.

"These scholarship awards serve as an incentive for students to continue to seek excellence in their professional training," said Stephen Fridley, COMTA executive director. "We greatly appreciate Biotone's recognition of the commitment of COMTA institutions and programs to the quality of education provided to their students. While the monetary assistance is significant, this recognition is an even greater reward."


Join the conversation
Comments are encouraged, but you must follow our User Agreement
Keep it civil and stay on topic. No profanity, vulgar, racist or hateful comments or personal attacks. Anyone who chooses to exercise poor judgement will be blocked. By posting your comment, you agree to allow MPA Media the right to republish your name and comment in additional MPA Media publications without any notification or payment.
comments powered by Disqus
dotted line