Massage Today
Massage Today dotted line
dotted line

dotted line
Share |
  Forward PDF Version  
Massage Today
August, 2005, Vol. 05, Issue 08

Nevada Passes Massage Regulation

By Editorial Staff

Following on the heels of South Dakota and Georgia, Nevada has become the 36th state to pass massage regulation. Assembly Bill (AB) 250 passed the Senate on June 4, 2005, and was signed into law by Gov.

Kenny Guinn, June 10.

Among the requirements, applicants for licensure will be required to show proof of completion of a board-approved massage education program with a minimum of 500 hours, submit to a full background check, and pass a written exam "accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies." A grandfathering clause will grant licenses to therapists who have been previously licensed to practice massage therapy (whether in Nevada or another state) and are currently practicing massage, and who meet other administrative requirements. Additionally, therapists meeting specific requirements may be granted a 90-day temporary massage license in which they would be allowed to practice under the supervision of a fully licensed massage therapist.

The bill requires the governor to appoint a seven-member massage therapy board, six of which are licensed massage therapists and one public member, by July 1, 2007. The text of the bill can be accessed at www.leg.state.nv.us/73rd/Reports.

 

Join the conversation
Comments are encouraged, but you must follow our User Agreement
Keep it civil and stay on topic. No profanity, vulgar, racist or hateful comments or personal attacks. Anyone who chooses to exercise poor judgement will be blocked. By posting your comment, you agree to allow MPA Media the right to republish your name and comment in additional MPA Media publications without any notification or payment.
comments powered by Disqus
dotted line